Barnabas Tinkasimire mocks NUP newly appointed President by branding his group as Political Bar

The controversial Buyaga County MP Barnabas Tinkasimire has shocked the nation for branding People Power, Our Power Movement started by Kyadondo East legislation Kyagulanyi Robert Ssentamu a political bar club.

The legislator who was appointed by MP Kyagulanyi as the regional coordinator for Bunyoro region, turned yesterday at the National Resistance Movement (NRM) to pic nomination forms.


Read also : Sam Kahamba Kuteesa tops Worst Mp list 2019/20


Journalists asked MP Tinkasimire why he had abandoned People Power to pick NRM nomination forms, yet he is the regional coordinator in Bunyoro.


“Have I even been a member of People Power? People Power is like a bar club, where people go to socialise and at the end of the drinking spree they go back home,’ says MP Tinkasimire.


” Can you sleep in a bar because you’re a member of that social club, after drinking you go back home, NRM is my party”, the legislator said.


In January 2020, Hon Tinkasimire made similar remarks while he appeared on Top TV talk show.


“This is a multiparty political dispensation. You want a person (like me)who studied political science from Makerere University, has a Masters in Political science from Makerere, to move from a political party to a pressure group? No. I have not yet reached that level,” Tinkasiimire said


Tinkasimire is among the NRM rebel MPs who met president Yoweri Kaguta Museveni early this week abandoning People Power Movement of MP Kyagulanyi also popularly known as Bobi Wine.


On Wednesday July 22, 2020, Mr Wine launched a new political party The National Unity Platform (NUP), it is not yet clear whether he will appoint new coordinators in these posts or he will keep a deaf ear and such co-ordinators will continue messing up his political journey.

Read also: Bryan White was Poisoned, Results from South Africa

Mp Tinkasimire received nomination forms from the NRM electoral commission chairman Dr Tanga Odoi to run for the fourth term as the Buyaga county MP.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 − fifteen =

Most Popular

To Top