At Last! Parliament Approves Creation Of Terego District

Parliament of Uganda has approved the creation of Terego district in accordance with Article 179(A) of the constitution.

Out of the 243 lawmakers present, there were five abstentions and two who voted against while 236 voted for the creation of the new district during the plenary sitting on 05 May 2020 chaired by the Speaker, Rebecca Kadaga.


The Minister for Local Government, Hon Raphael Magyezi moved the motion of alteration of boundaries of Arua district to create Terego district.


Magyezi said that the newly created district will comprise of Terego County East and Terego County West with its headquarters at Leju Trading Centre in Ayivu Sub-county and it will take effect on 01 July 2020.


To operationalize the new district, Magyezi said that Shs20.9 billion is required, adding that part of the funds will be from the budget of Arua district.

“The budget amounting to Shs2.7 billion which is the balance required for the new district will be provided through budget adjustments. Government will also provide shs100 million as startup funds to enable the district take off by July 2020,” he said.


He added that the Ministry of Local Government will guide the new district on the interim leadership and sharing of assets with Arua district in accordance with section 180 to 188 of the Local Government Act.


The demand for the district status for Terego began more than 10 years ago, by the then Terego County MP, Hon Kassiano Wadri and a group of other elected leaders.


Meanwhile, Magyezi pledged to report back to Parliament after 15 working days in regard to creation of new districts of Sigulu, Rwendera, Katwe and Hima.

“The process of consultation has not yet been concluded and I request that I am given time to report back on the way forward,” he said.


Magyezi also promised to follow up on the impasse on the splitting of Tororo district into two. He was responding to an attempt by Hon. Annet Nyakecho (Indep. Tororo North County) to amend his motion to include alteration of Tororo district boundaries.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 × 5 =

Most Popular

To Top